BYU Announces New Football Schedules with Tennessee and Idaho State

PROVO, Utah — BYU director of athletics Tom Holmoe today announced agreements for future football games between the Cougars and the University of Tennessee of the Southeastern Conference, as well as Idaho State University of the Big Sky Conference.

The Cougars and Volunteers are scheduled to meet at Neyland Stadium in Knoxville, Tennessee, on Sept. 7, 2019, with the second game set for Sept. 1 or 2, 2023, at LaVell Edwards Stadium in Provo. The two schools have never met in football.

“There’s something about those orange and white checkerboard end zones that shouts ‘Tradition!’,” BYU director of athletics Tom Holmoe said. “When the opportunity to play a series with Tennessee presented itself, we didn’t blink. They’re a storied football program with a winning tradition, national championships, a classic stadium, incredible fans and hall of fame coaches. It will be a great experience to visit SEC country and play in Neyland Stadium, and later host Tennessee in Provo.”

BYU and Idaho State will also play in 2019, in a game scheduled for Nov. 16 in Provo. The Cougars and the Bengals have previously met five times in football, the first being in Pocatello, Idaho, on Nov. 4, 1932, and the most recent contest in Provo on Nov 16, 2013. BYU owns a 5-0 record in the series.

“I like this regional game with Idaho State,” said Holmoe. “Pocatello is only about three hours from Provo and it’s a good regional contest for both schools. We look forward to hosting Idaho State at LaVell Edwards Stadium in 2019.”

Tennessee was founded in 1794 and began playing football in 1891. The Volunteers have been a member of the Southeastern Conference (SEC) since its inception in 1932. Tennessee has claimed six national championships in football, captured 16 conference titles and participated in 52 bowl games—tied for the second most ever. The Volunteers have an overall record of 829-375-53 (.680). With a capacity of 102,455, Neyland Stadium is the fourth largest athletic facility in the United States.

Idaho State was founded in 1901 and was a charter member of the Big Sky Conference in 1963. The Bengals compete in the Football Championship Subdivision and have captured eight conference titles. Led by former BYU assistant coach Dave Kragthorpe, Idaho State won the 1981 NCAA Division 1-AA National Championship over Eastern Kentucky 34-23 at the Pioneer Bowl in Wichita Falls, Texas.

BYU was founded in 1875 and began playing varsity football in 1922. The Cougars won a national championship in 1984, have played in 35 bowl games, including each of the last 12 years, and won 23 conference titles before going independent in 2011. BYU has an overall record of 564–406–26 (.581).

Over the past 30 seasons (1987-2016) BYU, Tennessee, and Clemson have each won 254 games, to tie for ninth in total wins among all FBS teams.

Kickoff times and broadcast plans for the games will be announced at a later date. For more information on BYU football, visit


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *