The Curse Is Broken As Cubs Become World Series Champions After Extra Innings In Game 7

CLEVELAND – The Chicago Cubs haven’t won a World Series title in 108 years and tonight was the night to do it. The Cubs were counted out by almost everyone but the Cubs themselves when they were down 1-3 to the Cleveland Indians. The Cubs do what they do best and they win. They brought the Indians all the way to a game seven in the tenth inning to pull out an 8-7 victory to finally end the curse of the billy goat. (The Curse of the Billy Goat originated when a local bar owner brought a goat inside the ballpark before Game 4 against the Tiger’s and was asked to leave.)

The Chicago Cubs are the 2016 World Series champions. This is a dream come true to the Cubs organization, but also to all those Cub fans who have waited through many generations to see this event take place Wednesday night.

This is the Cubs’ first World Series appearance since 1945, when they fell short against the Tigers in seven games.

The Indians’ walk away with many questions leading the Cubs 3-1. They are the second-longest losing streak in baseball, but it’s 40 years shorter than the Cubs’ drought was. The Indians claimed the championship in 1948, the second title in franchise history. The Indians returned to the grand stage in 1954, 1995 and 1997, but lost on those occasions.

World Series schedule

Game 1: Tuesday, Oct. 25 — 8:08 p.m. ET, Progressive Field – Cubs Win

Game 2: Wednesday, Oct. 26 — 8:08 p.m. ET, Progressive Field – Indians Win

Game 3: Friday, Oct. 28 — 8:08 p.m. ET, Wrigley Field – Indians Win

Game 4: Saturday, Oct. 29 — 8:08 p.m. ET, Wrigley Field – Indians Win

Game 5: Sunday, Oct. 30 — 8:15 p.m. ET, Wrigley Field – Cubs Win

Game 6: Tuesday, Nov. 1 — 8:08 p.m. ET, Progressive Field – Cubs Win

Game 7: Wednesday, Nov. 2 — 8:08 p.m. ET, Progressive Field – Cubs Win

Image from MLB on FOX Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *